VSDCA: Bayswater back in the fray

On line: Bayswater will be asking big efforts from its bowlers, including Ben Jackson, when the Waters face Oakleigh this weekend. Picture: Sam StiglecBAYSWATER has returned to the Victorian Sub District Cricket Association south-east finals for the first time in almost a decade.
Nanjing Night Net

The Waters secured fifth place on the ladder after rain washed out all play in the VSDCA on Saturday and will play second-placed Oakleigh in a qualifying final at Warrawee Park, Oakleigh, this Saturday and Sunday. Three of the Waters four VSDCA sides have made finals in their respective grades.

Waters captain Sean Flynn said his side was looking forward to its first finals appearance since he had returned to the club. “Everyone around the club is really excited. Playing in big finals games is what we play all season for.”

The Oaks shape as a daunting test for the Waters after giving them a sound beating in their last clash in mid-December winning outright.

“That gave us a cricketing lesson in our last meeting,” Flynn said. “This time, we plan to put up a much better fight. We have certainly improved our form with each game and we have taken confidence from our last win.”

The VSDCA uses a top-six finals system so the three first-round winners will be joined by the highest place loser in the semi finals.

Flynn has made it clear his side had to win as it could not be the highest ranked loser. We have to win every match from here on in – we will get no second chances,” he said.

The Waters expect to field an unchanged side.

VSDCA South-East Qualifying-finals draw:

1st XI: Caulfield v Malvern, Caulfield Park; Oakleigh v Bayswater, Warrawee Park; Elsternwick v Box Hill, Elsternwick Park No.1.

2nd XI: Elsternwick v Oakleigh, Walter Galt Reserve; Brighton v Caulfield, Brighton Beach Oval; Noble Park v Malvern, Pat Wright Snr Oval.

3rd XI: Brighton v Malvern, McKenzies Reserve; Bayswater v Caulfield, Bayswater Oval; Oakleigh v Elsternwick, WA Scammell Reserve.

4th XI: Oakleigh v Bayswater, Bayswater Park No.2; Box Hill v Brighton, Sydney Pargeter Reserve; Caulfield v Malvern, Caulfield Park No.1.